Top Ten Tuesday: coming soon to cinemas in my head

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted weekly by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is “books we’d love to see as movies/tv shows”. I might start sounding like a broken record, but when you truly love a book (or a dozen books) they start becoming the answer to EVERY QUESTION. Also, this is actually a top seven because I don’t have time to watch ten new TV shows, y’all.

1. The Dark is Rising sequence by Susan Cooper

theliteralworst
THE LITERAL WORST.

Please never ever talk to me about the 2007 movie. (From Wikipedia: “This film adaptation drew strong negative reaction from fans of the book series for its disregard of the source material.”) My ultimate pipe dream is for the series to be adapted into five 90 minute films by the BBC, which are then broadcast over two years or so (The Dark is Rising at Christmas, The Grey King in the October half term, etc.). This is clearly never going to happen, so while I’m dreaming big, PERIOD SETTINGS. No modern updates. I NEVER WANT WILL STANTON TO HAVE FACEBOOK.

2. The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters

All of her other books have been adapted for film/TV, so don’t let me down on this one, guys. I just want all of the historical lesbians. All of them.

3. Say Her Name by James Dawson

secret-history
#aesthetic

This is already a horror movie in YA novel form, and it’d be nice to see a genuinely scary British version of the Bloody Mary legend. I find mirrors and reflection spookiness especially terrifying, so I would be watching between my fingers! (A lot easier than reading between your fingers, let me tell you.)

4. The Secret History by Donna Tartt

So The Secret History is my answer to everything, but I am really into this book’s aesthetic and would love to see it onscreen. Horrible rich people doing terrible things is seriously my favourite kind of fiction, and Francis’ house would look great. As would all the nice suits. (And MURDER.)

5. The Shoebox Project

I would settle for any Marauders-era Harry Potter TV show (I would prefer a TV show to a movie) but I love The Shoebox Project so. It’s overdue a reread, actually… I need Marauders in my life, and Remus/Sirius on my telly would be the best thing ever.

6. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

I would cry so much and it would be so epic. (The author talks about her dream cast on the blog My Book, The Movie here: Madeline Miller’s “The Song of Achilles”.)

6. Animorphs series by K.A. Applegate

67c7ff319ba437f0d7b79dfece3f8d6a
This statuesque teen queen.

I will never miss an opportunity to remind you all that Animorphs is important, and besides, we need to shed the memories of the painfully dated series from the 90s. She’s too old now, but Sophie Turner is my headcanon Rachel. There’s too much plot for a single movie, so I want a good few seasons of an Animorphs show. I think a modern update could be a good thing, and although we could afford to cut some plot lines (I’m looking at you, Helmacrons) I wouldn’t want to lose all of the filler. Animorphs is gory, smart, upsetting, and quietly progressive, but it also needs to be goofy. (p.s. adapt Everworld.)

7. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

Unpopular opinion alert: I loved this book so much more than We Were Liars. Clever and funny, with a magnetic eponymous character, this could be a smart girl cult favourite.

I’m sure I’m going to regret leaving some books off, so come and remind me of what they are in the comments! 🙂

1 thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: coming soon to cinemas in my head”

Leave a Reply

