Top Ten Tuesday: books I’ve read so far this year

Top Ten Tuesday is pioneered & hosted by the splendid Broke and Bookish.

TTT

As a kind of follow-up/addendum to my recent round-up of what I’ve been enjoying January to June, here’s a list of the top ten books I’ve read so far this year.

1. Lobsters by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison (review)

2. Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill (review)

3. The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick (review)

Those were my three favourites on a generally very strong shortlist for the inaugural YA Book Prize.

Pictured: my books getting ants on them
Pictured: my books getting ants on them

4. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

I read this back in February. I vividly remember finishing it during my break at work and then walking around shell shocked and heartbroken for the rest of my shift. A classic love story, in which the central romance is beautifully and devastatingly drawn.

5. Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

I did a fairly useless job of reading the Carnegie shortlist, but I did manage this one, and I was so glad I did. It’s sad, it’s real, it’s alive. I feel an uncomplicated affection for this lovely read.

6. Black Iris by Leah Raeder

This book is dark, twisted, and REALLY QUEER. It’s basically amazing. I’ve read nothing like it, in terms of style AND content. I was unsure about it at first, but as soon as I was in, I was in all the way. ALL THE WAY.

7. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Okay, so I was nagged into reading The Raven Boys, but I inhaled it greedily on Welsh trains while ignoring my girlfriend because it’s so so good. It’s been a while since I’ve felt “addicted” to a series but goshdarn it if Maggie hasn’t made me a fan of her boys! I could have put all three on this list quite happily, but The Dream Thieves is the best, so here we are.

8. The Accident Season by MoΓ―ra Fowley-Doyle (review)

I LOVE.

9. The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne

So I picked this up on a whim at work – it was on the returns trolley and I was very bored. Clearly the stars were aligned, as it had never piqued my interest before, but I sat and read the first chapter and fell in love with Bree. Bree is very definitely a mess, but she’s charming and witty and her voice carries this book. I’m so excited about Holly Bourne’s next book I can’t bear it.

10. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The sky is blue & I'm reading about men who hate women #readthegirl

A post shared by sarah (@slouisebarnard) on

I know, I’m years late to this party, but I just read it and loved it. With The Girl in the Spider’s Web coming out later this year, The Reading Agency has sent us loads of promotion material encouraging people to #readthegirl and I for one was appropriately urged. It kept me up past 3am because I was so intrigued by the mystery. I’m looking forward to reading Millennium book 2, and maybe the third and the new fourth instalment too. Lisbeth is back!

1 thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: books I’ve read so far this year”

  1. Your list and your descriptions have me hooked πŸ™‚ I adored Only ever yours and was both amused and terrified at how close to reality it just is! Can’t wait to check out some of the others I haven’t read πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

