Man Booker shortlist: the race to read is on

Yesterday, the shortlist for the 2015 Man Booker Prize was announced. This prize is awarded to the best book of the year. For the second year, it is open to all authors writing in English and published in the UK, no matter what nationality.

80480b44-d602-47a2-b2e0-3503465ad372-2060x1236

The mission I have assigned myself is to read all of them before the winner is announced Tuesday 13th October. I’m not going to lie, I am daunted by the size of A Little Life, but I have heard amazing things about it. I’m going to deliberately leave it til last, so I don’t “get tired and feel defeated” as the woman on my Couch to 5k podcast would say. First up for me is A Brief History of Seven Killings, which is also very big.

Why do I set myself these challenges? Well, mainly because people think I have lost my mind when I tell them what I’m doing. But I don’t read an awful lot of adult fiction at the moment, so it’s nice to have a prescribed list of supposedly good new stuff to get through.

Wish me luck! I’m going to need it. That or several days off work.

The shortlist, in full:

A Brief History of Seven Killings, Marlon James
Satin Island, Tom McCarthy
The Fishermen, Chigozie Obioma
The Year of the Runaways, Sunjeev Sahota
A Spool of Blue Thread, Anne Tyler
A Little Life, Hanya Yanagihara

2 thoughts on “Man Booker shortlist: the race to read is on”

Leave a Reply

