It’s beginning to look a lot like… pumpkin season.

Happy autumn equinox everybody!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m a cold-weather girl. The stretch of time from here to the end of the year is the most wonderful time. I have had about ten pumpkin spice lattes so far this season. I even started an autumn tumblr a few days ago.

For all my fellow booklovers, autumn is the perfect time of year for cuddling up with a good book. I’ve been thinking about what books I’m going to be reading as the nights get longer, and I’ve come to some conclusions…

THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE SHORTLIST
Inevitably, as I set myself the challenge to read them before the prize announcement, I’m going to be reading the six books on the shortlist for a big chunk of early autumn.

SOME SPOOKY REREADS…
The Dark is Rising Christmas readalong is very much a Thing, and long may it continue. Susan Cooper’s The Dark is Rising sequence is just fantastic, and I’m 51TXzMoI2aL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_always championing it wherever I can. The Grey King is probably my favourite book in the sequence, and conveniently is set around Hallowe’en, so I’m hoping to find the time to read it again and immerse myself in those magical Welsh mountains. (Fans of The Raven Cycle really need to read these books, as Maggie Stiefvater has cited them as a big influence!)

I’m hoping to fit in a reread of The Accident Season, which I read earlier this year and loved to bits. It’s so evocative of October, I’d love to experience the story again at the right time of year.

I’m doing a spooky Hallowe’en story time at work and I’ve decided to read a book by one of my favourite picture book artists, Kazuno Kohara. I love her bold yet adorable style and the bright, seasonal orange of The Haunted House.

The-Haunted-House-by-Kazu-013

YA SHOT PREPARATIONS!
I am lying to myself if I think I can actually squeeze in some other books on top, but October is YA Shot month, and it’d be nice to read some books by the authors I haven’t read yet. Some more Night School? Clockwork Sparrow? I’ve got Counting Stars to read, and The Dead House… (Have I mentioned how excited I am for YA Shot? I’m super excited for YA Shot.)

THIS ALL ASSUMES, of course, that I won’t be too busy making Hallowe’en costumes and going into pumpkin spice sugar comas come October. Cross your fingers for me, friends.

Are there any essential autumn reads I’m missing? New releases or classics worthy of a reread? Should I chuck my plans and just reread Harry Potter? Let me know!

1 thought on “It’s beginning to look a lot like… pumpkin season.”

Leave a Reply

