Top Ten Tuesday: new to the TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted, as ever, by the fine folks of The Broke and the Bookish.

TTT

Here’s a random selection of ten books I’ve recently made the unwise decision to add to my TBR list…

The_Force_Awakens_novelization_final_cover

Star Wars: The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster

I’m not going to lie to you, this one is 100% for Poe Dameron, as is the rest of everything I do, think, and am.

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

My local library didn’t have this, so I put in a request and it’s on order! It’s on the system and everything! So I am honour-bound to read it. PSA: you can request books your library doesn’t already have, it’s a thing, you should do it.

Eligible: A modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice by Curtis Sittenfeld

I was disappointed by Alexander McCall Smith’s Emma, and I’ve not exactly heard great things about the rest of the Austen Project, but apparently Eligible is GREAT, so I’ll get round to it soon!

Delusions of Gender by Cordelia Fine

delusionsofgender

On Louise O’Neill’s recommendation, I read Emer O’Toole’s Girls Will Be Girls recently. I’m keen to read more books that will leave the smouldering remains of gender scattered around my feet, and O’Toole mentioned this one more than once, so I guess it’s my next feminist read.

Night School: Legacy by C.J. Daugherty

I started the Night School series, finally, in 2015 and I would like to continue it at some point.

The Circle (Engelsfors Trilogy) by Sara B. Elfgren and Mats Strandberg

I’d never heard of these books, but somebody – I think Samantha Shannon? – recommended them in a twitter chat a couple of weeks ago. I’m reluctant to read them, because the premise seems very close to something I’m not-writing i.e. queer teen witches, but equally, they sound exactly like something I want to read, i.e. queer teen witches.

The Wolf Border by Sarah Hall

wolfborder

I’ve seen this book around a lot, with its stark, distinctive cover, but I’ve only just found out what it’s about. WOLVES! And themes that always appeal to me, like family, freedom, man’s impact on nature, mythology. One to pick up in paperback, I think.

Carol by Patricia Highsmith

I saw Carol! I want to read Carol!

Trick or Treat: A History of Halloween by Lisa Morton

trickortreat

After picking this book up several times over the two years I’ve been working at the library, I finally checked it out and took it home. Lisa Morton is reportedly one of the world’s foremost Halloween experts, which is a really incredible thing to be able to say about oneself.

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1: Squirrel Power by Ryan North and Erica Henderson

Okay, so I’m a big fan of Ryan North and the words that he writes, but I was avoiding Squirrel Girl on principle, because squirrels are my enemies. However, I picked up volume one and it’s just… so… fun… Does it count as TBR if I’ve started reading it? Whatever!!

Have you read any of these? Please don’t tell me I’ll hate them. What bad choices have you made recently? (Regarding books, I mean.) We can stop any time we want, I know it.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: new to the TBR”

  1. I’m really curious about the Engelsfor trilogy myself. I’ve had them on my TBR for awhile but I’m intimidated by how massive each book is, and I haven’t heard many people talk about them.

    My TTT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

