2016 so far, in bullet points

Time is slip-slipping away, and it feels like the only productive thing I’ve done for the past couple of weeks is listen to the Hamilton soundtrack. I have actually been up to things, out there in the real world, so here’s a quick update:

  • January saw the inaugural meeting of the Raven Boys Book Club. We’re planning to (re)read all three books in Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle in time for the much-anticipated release of THE RAVEN KING in April. Desserts were eaten, drinks imbibed, and Gansey maligned. I have now seen the beauty and glory of the US hardback editions of the books and am horribly tempted to order my own copies… (Hey, it’s my birthday in March!) The next meeting is scheduled for the end of February, and we will be discussing THE DREAM THIEVES. Tweet us discussion points, or something!
  • As per my promise to reread some books, I read PRISONER OF AZKABAN and GOBLET OF FIRE. I have… so many… feelings… and this year is a very good year to be excited about Harry Potter all over again! Stay tuned for my brand new thoughts on Arthur Weasley, probably.
  • Last Saturday was National Libraries Day, and Wednesday 10th February was Coventry Central Library’s 30th birthday! All libraries, all the time. The Guardian published a great piece from an anonymous public librarian here, and everything I said in this interview with Lauren James last summer remains true.
  • I’ve had my first review quoted in an actual printed book! I’m incredibly honoured that my handful of words share the same pages as the thousands of wonderful words that make up Sara Barnard’s BEAUTIFUL BROKEN THINGS. It’s an absolutely stunning book – my copy arrived today and I’ve been flicking through it and getting engrossed all over again.

bookquoteBBT

  • I also had the pleasure of meeting lovely Lu Hersey yesterday! Sadly, I didn’t get to see her talk at Kenilworth Books, but we did have a good potter around the charity shops and I bought an awesome edition of a Susan Cooper book for 70p from The Tree House Bookshop!

20160211_154802

So as you can see, it’s been all go on my end! With the announcement of the Carnegie longlist imminent and the YA Book Prize shortlist not long after that, it’s not like the pace is letting up any time soon. And I did promise some posts about female friendship sometime this month… If I’m not too busy celebrating Galetine’s and Valentine’s, that is.

 

Leave a Reply

