Top Ten Tuesday: ten characters I’d love to revisit as adults

The Broke and the Bookish bring us Top Ten Tuesday every week, and for this, we offer profuse thanks.

TTT

This is an excuse to write about all the awesome female characters I want to read the further adventures of, so I’m sorry, but this is going to be all the usual subjects! Please read the following as “cool girls I wanna hang out with maybe when they’re in their late twenties and wanna grab coffee with me even though I’m not cool because they are not just cool they are NICE to other GIRLS”.

Naturally this list begins with Frankie Landau-Banks (The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, E. Lockhart) because don’t you long to know how she went on to crush the patriarchy in new and exciting ways after her pranking reign was over?

For similar reasons, Blue Sargent (Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle) makes my list. There’s a scene in The Raven King that nearly made me cry, and it’s the one with a bunch of people sat in a bathtub talking about Blue’s future. Not everyone would have made room for stories about women supporting each other within a story about privileged young men looking for a dead Welsh king, but Stiefvater does and it’s beautiful.

HisDarkMaterials1_6.sized
Anna Maxwell Martin as Lyra in the National Theatre’s 2003 His Dark Materials

Is The Book of Dust ever happening? I hope so, because Lyra Belacqua (His Dark Materials trilogy, Philip Pullman) is always going to make this kind of list, and all other kinds as well. I’m very curious to see what Lyra does after falling in love and defying death and the end of the universe. I’m desperate for her to relearn the language of the alethiometer. I also want to see her develop friendships with other women, as we get a glimpse at the end of The Amber Spyglass of her growing realisation that women can do stuff, too.

I have a soft spot for Jane Drew (The Dark is Rising sequence, Susan Cooper) but I’d also love to see her friends Will Stanton and Bran Davies grow up. Will is pretty much ageless, but what does an adult Will do with himself? Also, everyone forgetting that magic exists is too heartbreaking, and I want all the stories about the Drews starting to remember.

The Lie Tree is everything and Faith Sunderly is an astounding creation. If you don’t want to see Ms Sunderly grow up into one of the era’s pre-eminent minds, I don’t know what’s wrong with you.

tumblr_nla336L9Y71u8ealno1_500
Fanart by Junk Knight (junknight.tumblr.com)

I recently listened to the audiobook of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz (read by Lin-Manuel Miranda!) and fell completely head-over-heels for Ari and Dante and their friendship. It’s one of those books where you consider the characters your friends and end up missing them when the book is over. I was keeping several of my real-life friends up to date with the adventures of “my boys” over the weeks it took me to finish the audiobook. I found out yesterday that A SEQUEL IS ON THE WAY and I can’t wait. I just wanna know what’s up with Aristotle Mendoza and Dante Quintana these days.

Last but not least… We sadly lost Louise Rennison earlier this year, but her comic creation Georgia Nicolson (Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging, and the rest of The Confessions of…) lives on. I would love to meet a Georgia my age, navigating the weird world of adulthood with just as much hilariosity and awkwardness as her teenage years.

What do you think of my choices? Which YA love interests do you want to age up to make it less weird? Wanna cry about Ari and Dante with me? Let me know in the comments. (Epic comment fan fiction is also welcome, jsyk.)

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: ten characters I’d love to revisit as adults”

  1. Lyra and Blue are my favorites on here. I am VERY jealous that you have already read The Raven King! That you have already read it indicates that you have a level of cool to fit right in with these cool ladies on your list:).

    Like

Leave a Reply

