#ThisIsWhoIAm – a summer time capsule

image002

I’ve had an ARC of The Square Root of Summer for a while, but I finally read it yesterday. It’s a gorgeous summery read with a strong sense of place. You can almost feel the sunshine yourself (or, more often, rain – this is Norfolk, after all.) Gottie’s voice is lively and charming. Who better to spend a summer with than the Oppenheimers and company?

To celebrate the release of Harriet Reuter Hapgood’s fantastic debut novel, people across the bookosphere have been putting together time capsules that say something about who they are, going into summer 2016. I’m rather a fan of this sort of thing; I write a letter to my future self at the end of every year. It’s always interesting to see how I’ve changed over twelve months, though I have a remarkably consistent taste in bad jokes.

Without further ado, let me show you the five items I picked out for my own capsule.

20160504_142223
feat. my feet (and a copy of The Square Root of Summer of course!)

In no particular order, we have

my moon necklace – my girlfriend bought me this for my birthday, and I wore it pretty much every day until I broke it. I’m even wearing it in this tweet below!

I’ve been thinking a lot about witches and the occult lately, and the moon makes me feel that little bit more witchy in my day-to-day life. So, the moon makes it.

The Raven King – I had to have a book in there somewhere. My friends and I have been holding a Raven Boys book club since the beginning of this year, so this series has been very much on my mind. I spent the week running up to The Raven King‘s release agonising about exactly how I should read it. Read it quickly and then reread immediately, or take it slow so I can savour it? Yeah. Add to this obsession the fact that I’m meeting Maggie Stiefvater this summer… Make way for the king!

Marry Me A Little sheet music – I sang this in a concert last Saturday! When my choir’s MD announced the theme as “songs from the shows” I joked about singing this song, and then weeks later found myself in front of about a hundred people, actually singing it. I had an absolute blast. It’s one of my favourites – look at Raúl Esparza singing it here, dreamy sigh – but it’s in the capsule as a representation of all the singing I do. Singing is a huge part of my life, and has been for many years.

Will Graham Funko Pop! – my tumblr tag for Will Graham used to be “the third person in my relationship” so yeah, I’m quite emotionally invested in this character. My Will and Hannibal Funkos were both presents from my brother and I love them dearly. In my capsule, Will represents my enduring fannish love for NBC’s Hannibal, as well as my general predilection for INTENSE FEELINGS ABOUT FICTIONAL CHARACTERS.

Porthcothan Bay postcard – I live far from the sea, but I go to this place in Cornwall with my family every year. My heart soars every time I come back to the vast expanse of the sea. Summer and the seaside are inextricably linked for me. It’s all about sand under my toes, reading three books a day, listening to the waves, burgers freshly charred from the barbecue. Additionally, I love snail mail and have a huge collection of postcards! (If you fancy a postcard from me, honestly, just hit me up at slouisebarnard@gmail.com and I will send you like five, because I have so many.)

There you go! This is who I am. I hope you’ve learnt a lot from this post, and if you haven’t created your own capsule yet, let me be your inspiration!

9781509808281The Square Root of Summer

 

The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood is out 5 May 2016 from Macmillan Children’s Books.

1 thought on “#ThisIsWhoIAm – a summer time capsule”

Leave a Reply

