May Book Haul & minireviews

I’m usually dreadful at remembering what book came into my possession when, because DESPITE working in a library, I am no diligent cataloguer of books. This month I decided I would keep all my May purchases together, so I could show ’em off.

It’s too dark in my house to take nice pictures, so here’s a dark picture:

May Book Haul

BOUGHT NEW: Girl Up by Laura Bates and Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

CHARITY SHOPPED: The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters, The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf and Not Forgetting the Whale by John Ironmonger

KICKSTARTED SEVERAL MONTHS AGO, FINALLY ARRIVED FROM USA: RAW a Hannibal/Will fanthology by various

I’m excited about all of these books but RAW is so gorgeous. It’s absurd that I own a hardback book of Hannibal fanfiction, but I didn’t know what OTP meant until I shipped Hannibal/Will, and also it came with an enamel pin of a heart, like, I’m sorry but I LOVE IT SO MUCH. THIS THING OF DARKNESS I ACKNOWLEDGE MINE.

It’s a travesty I haven’t already read The Little Stranger, and I’ve heard good things about Not Forgetting the Whale. While I don’t read much nonfiction, I do like to read about feminism, and Laura Bates’ book is beautifully designed and charming. I’ve been looking forward to Kill the Boy Band since the beginning of the year, so when I spotted it in Foyles I picked it up immediately.

DISCLAIMER: I will not read any of these books until about August 2017 because who actually reads the books they buy???


WHAT I READ THIS MONTH:

The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood: Summer-drenched, great characters and sense of place, timey-wimey nonsense didn’t quite work for me. #ThisIsWhoIAm

The Green Road by Anne Enright: Funny and acutely observed, with sentences so gorgeously constructed I had to read them four or five times.

The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild: Lively and lovely, a sparkling reminder that art is the most important thing in the world.

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury: review here

Ruby by Cynthia Bond: A tour de force of horror and rare beauty. I don’t have the words but I’m glad Cynthia Bond does.

One by Sarah Crossan: review here

The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth Mckenzie: Sharply absurd, funny, clever. Too many squirrels. I don’t know if I just wasn’t in the mood for this, but I absolutely dragged myself through it.

Leave a Reply

