Sarah in Scotland: week one

It’s been a week since I moved to Edinburgh to start my masters in publishing and I have already learnt so much.

Like, what square sausage is. And the name of the highest mountain in Canada. I’ve met dozens of Italians. I’ve already had two Ridacards. (The current one has a much, much better ID picture than the first one did.)

Most importantly, I have learnt that I now live in the greatest city in the world (the greatest city in the world!). Admittedly, I am comparing it mainly to Coventry, but every day I’ve spent in Edinburgh I have felt delighted and lucky to be in such an amazing place.

IMG_20160911_105722180_HDR.jpg

I’ve already started work as a bookseller, joined the Society of Young Publishers, and attended an author event (with the lovely Laura Lam and Elizabeth May). I’ve met the rest of my cohort, or as I like to think of us, 40 rising stars of publishing.

img_20160910_163432019_hdr

Today was my first day of school. It was very strange to be sat back in a lecture theatre. I didn’t know if that would ever happen to me again, but here I am. I’m ready to learn. I’m ready to drink vats of coffee and publish some books. Look out, Scottish publishing! I’m here!

Leave a Reply

