What I Read in April

I read four books in April. To be fair, one of them was 666 pages long, and I also snuck in a cheeky reread, but that’s still a pretty poor showing. Now my classes are over and most of my deadlines are long and gone, perhaps I can do better in May?

Girl-of-Ink-Stars-newTHE GIRL OF INK AND STARS by Kiran Millwood Hargrave – Confession: I started reading this just after it was published in January 2016 and I didn’t really take to it, so I returned it to the library. After it was awarded the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize, I decided to give it another go. I think this is truly a case of “it’s not you, it’s me” – plenty of people whose opinions I respect absolutely loved it, but I found myself reluctant to return to Joya every time I put on my headphones (audiobook, natch). Maybe I’m just not used to reading middle grade?

32613366THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas – In a nutshell: YA and the Black Lives Matter movement, but also so much more. I’ve nothing to say about this book that hasn’t been said before by people far more qualified and eloquent than me. Suffice it to say that The Hate U Give deserves to top the New York Times bestseller list a zillion times over. Reading this book made my heart feel bigger and my mind feel wider. It’s absolutely stunning. Angry and alive, but surprisingly tender and often laugh-out-loud funny. And the voice! Starr and her friends and family are absolutely wonderful, and this book is important, nay, VITAL. Angie Thomas’ brilliance is radiant and her success is inspiring. The Hate U Give is unforgettable.

a-conjuring-of-light-1A CONJURING OF LIGHT by V.E. Schwab – The final instalment of Schwab’s excellent Shades of Magic trilogy. I think it suffers a little from last-in-the-series syndrome, in that it is reeeaaally long with all the loose ends it has to tie up. I don’t mind spending a while in this universe, with these characters, but it wasn’t until the latter third of the book that I found myself letting my coffee go cold, anxiously turning pages. There was a surprising amount of backstory crammed in, and though that was necessary for characters like the king and queen, I found Holland’s flashbacks overlong. I’m glad he got the sympathy and spotlight he deserves, but I didn’t enjoy squinting at full pages of italics. Despite all this, I really thoroughly enjoyed this book. I don’t read very much fantasy, but Schwab’s Londons are completely enthralling, and the magic system is one of the most interesting I’ve encountered. ACOL is 100% worth it just for three Antari in the same room.

419OgK6BE2L._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_GIRLHOOD by Cat Clarke – This book is out today and you should buy it! It’s a queer boarding school story with themes of identity, friendship, and obsession. I think you’ll like it; I did, as you can read here.

And that’s your lot! Sorry about that. I’ve already read one book this month, and I’m hoping to finish six more, so there might be more to blog about in a few weeks. See you then!

1 thought on “What I Read in April”

Leave a Reply

